Done

I managed to win NaNoWriMo this year.  You probably noticed the neat badge on the homepage, but if not, here’s this year’s prize:

Winner-2014-Square-Button

I feel good that I tried again, and anyone who does NaNo can’t help but have a sense of accomplishment.  50,000 words in thirty days is no small goal when you take into account the way life can intrude and wreck your plans.

The novel isn’t technically done, but it’s damn close.  I had some chapters done at the start of the month but just kept going.  Now I’m one or two chapters – 4000 to 6000 words – away from finishing my first novel since 2012.  Again, life can wreck your plans.

As much as it feels good to win, I am glad I can relax and focus on quality writing versus word count.  Don’t get me wrong, I came up with some good material this month.  Still, the pressure to generate words can lead to excess.

I expect to finish this book before the Holidays are over and then let it rest until I can copyedit… sometime next year.

8 thoughts on “Done

  1. Congratulations!

    I entered this year, but could not finish chapter one, or scene one as a matter of fact.

    As you mentioned, life gets in the way and wrecks your plans. Demanding family visiting, demanding job, and moving into new apartment didn’t help the wordcount.

    Kudos to you for having prevailed against adversity and achieved the wordcount goal. Now that your first draft is almost done, revel in this achievement, finish it, and go to the next step: editing.

    Good writing and happy holidays.

    • Sounds exactly like my own experience last year, Emilio. It will get better.

      Thanks for your support! I finished the book after NaNo, and will let it “rest” before I pull out my infamous red pen.

Leave a Reply

